Sign In Forgot Password

Acceptable Kosher Symbols

Ingredients must be brought in unopened and sealed in original packaging. Any products bearing one of these labels are acceptable, provided one pays attention to whether they are meat, dairy or pareve. Even more extensive lists are available online. Please note whether the symbol includes the words "dairy" or "meat."


Questionable Hechshers: Assume not accepted at B’nai Torah
(These hechshers are generally not accepted in the Orthodox world. If you want to use a product with one of these symbols, please check with us).

Warning: Triangle-K follows liberal opinions not accepted by many Orthodox rabbis. You will often see it on products including meat, gelatin, cheese or grapes.
 


Warning: Tablet-K is found on many cheese and fish products at Costco and some Cabot cheeses. Cheeses and meats may be particularly problematic.

 

US-K - Warning: The letter "K" in a map of the US is not commonly accepted.
 


Warning:
Kosher Service of Philadelphia is not accepted.

 

K - Warning: A "K" with no further markings is generally meaningless. There are a few specific cases where it is acceptable. This is very problematic on yogurt - this usually means it contains non-kosher gelatin.

If you are unsure about a hechsher, please email a photo of the label to Rabbi Heller at rabbi@bnaitorah.org or Rabbi K at rabbik@bnaitorah.org.


Items Not Requiring a Symbol
 
  • Unflavored milk. Creamers or other dairy products, including buttermilk, do require a hechsher.
  • Fresh fruit and vegetables (note: dried, canned and frozen generally do require a symbol). Produce needs to be checked for insect infestation.
  • Paper goods/disposables
  • Spices on the following list: http://www.crcweb.org/spice_list.php
  • Eggs

Beverages

Most Coca-Cola products are kosher, but juices, energy drinks, etc. may be non-kosher, especially if they contain grape flavoring or natural red color.

Liquors

  • Very few liquors are labeled with a kosher symbol, and liquor may often include non-kosher ingredients or change formulations. Be careful about barware, blends and mixes as well.
  • For the most up-to-date information about liquors, please click here. In some cases, B’nai Torah may permit items not accepted by CRC.
  • There are two types of kosher wine certification. Wine to be used at B’nai Torah must be “Mevushal.”
Fri, July 19 2019 16 Tammuz 5779